World Handball Council World One Wall Championships Open Singles 1997-Present

World Handball Council Logo
World Handball Council Logo [Reference: 1]

Open Singles Finals

Small Ball
1997Winnipeg, CanadaDave RojasEd Maisonet
2000Des Plaines, USACesar SalaJoe Kaplan
2009Portland, OregonJoe KaplanYuber Castro
2012Dublin, IrelandTyree BastidasJoe Kaplan
2015Calgary, CanadaSean LenningVictor LoPierre
2018Tucson, Arizona, USAWilliam PolancoJoe Kaplan
Big Ball
2003Kilkenny City, IrelandTony RobertsWilliam Polanco
2006Edmonton, CanadaTony RobertsCesar Sala
2009Portland, OregonJohn WrightGiovanni Vasquez
2012Dublin, IrelandTywan CookYuber Castro
2015Calgary, CanadaTimothy GonzalezTywan Cook
World Handball Council World One-Wall Championships Open Singles 1997-Present [Reference: 2]


The World Handball Council World One-Wall Championships have taken place every three years since 1997, with Kilkenny City (2003) and Dublin (2012) hosting the Games for Ireland. It is due to be played hosted again in Dublin in 2021.



[1] US Handball (2020) WHClogo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 15 May 2018]


[2] US Handball (2015) World One-Wall [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 12 May 2018]

[3] R2 Sports (2015) 2018 World Handball Championships [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 14 August 2020]


Thanks to Luke Kelly.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | GAA World Archive

Last Updated: 11 November 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *