GAA Poc Fada Hurling All-Ireland Championships 2008

Poc Fada Logo
Poc Fada Logo [References: 1]


1Brendan Cummins54
2Ruairi Convery56
3Brendan McNamara5790
4James Skehill5735
5Damien Fitzhenry5724
6Shane O’Connor58
7Adrian Power60
8John Garrett6152
9Davy Fitzgerald6148
10David McManus6130
11Fintan O’Brien62
12Dan McAuliffe64
GAA Poc Fada All-Ireland Hurling Championships Results 2008 [Ref; 2]


Brendan Cummins won his third GAA Poc Fada All-Ireland Championship in-a-row, and his fourth in five years, in 2008, beating Ruairi convery by two Pocs. The Championship was held on Annaverna Mountain, Cooley in Co. Louth on Saturday, August 2, 2008.

About Poc Fada

Poc Fada is the Irish equivalent of Golf, and the two sports have the same origins in the times of the Gaelic Celtic myths and legends. According to early Irish literature, Setanta used his Hurley to hit a ball from his home in Co. Louth, while travelling, all the way to the feast of the Ulster king in Armagh, and Poc Fada is the modern equivalent, whereby a player uses their Hurley to hit a ball up the side of a mountain and down the other side in as few Pocs, or hits as possible. The All-Ireland Championships are held in the Cooley Mountains in Co. Louth every August.



[1] GAA Poc Fada Twitter Account (2018) GAA Poc Fada Logo [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 9 June 2018]


[2] Anon. (2008) “Cummins wins third Poc Fada title” Nenagh Guardian. Saturday, August 9, 2008. Pg. 8. [Past copies of the Nenagh Guardian are available to view online at the Irish Newspaper Archive at: which is a subscription service]


Thanks to Tom Dunne, Kilkenny

About this document

Researched, Compiled and Written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | GAA World Archive

Last Updated: 17 November 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *