GAA Handball All-Ireland Inter Club Championship Open Finals 2012-2018

GAA Handball Logo
GAA Handball Logo [Reference: 1]

Open Finals 2012-2018

2012Kells (Meath)67St. Coman’s (Roscommon)22
2014Ballaghaderreen (Roscommon)
2015Kells (Kilkenny)104Glenbeigh (Kerry)84
2016Kells (Kilkenny)97Breachach (Tyrone)70
2017Kells (Meath)70Breachach (Tyrone)49
2018Coolboy (Wicklow)74Glenbeigh (Kerry)42
GAA Handball All-Ireland Inter Club Championship Open Finals 2012-2018 [Reference: 2-8]


Kells of Meath twice won the GAA Handball All-Ireland Club Championships Open Finals between 2012 and 2018 inclusive. Their namesakes in Kilkenny also won the title twice, with Ballaghaderreen (Roscommon) and Coolboy (Wicklow) also taking the honours on one occasion.


Handball was first played in Ireland according to the World Handball Council website and the GAA Handball website describes it as the GAA’s only real World Sport. It is organised along the same lines as the rest of the Gaelic Games which come under the authority of the GAA – with County, Provincial and All-Ireland Championships, in both Men’s and Women’s, Team and Individual, Boys and Girls and also in Softball and Hardball versions. Some players compete in the European Pro Wallball Tour (Wallball is a unified version of Handball in Europe, bringing together the Handball of Ireland, UK, France, Italy, Spain, Catalonia, Basque Country, Belgium, Wallonia, Flanders and Netherlands. Others play on the US circuit or in Canada and Australia. It is also played in Japan and Latin America.



[1] GAA Handball (2017) GAA Handball Logo Square [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 11 December 2017]


[2-8] GAA Handball (2012-2018) GAA Results Summary 2012-2018 [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 1 April 2019]


Thanks to Jillian Glynn

About this document

Reserached, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the GAA World Archive
Last Updated: 15 November 2020
(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and GAA World Archive 2019-2020
You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *